I Remember Why I Dream In Black And White

Film 8 – El Escorial and a mystery

El Escorial by Tim Baker

As part of another film I’ve not indentified John had mentioned we went to El Escorial – and it turns out with a little help from Google Image Search this is what this film is from – took me a long time to identify this film, I thought it might be from Barcelona or Rome, but it turns out to be the Basilica and the palace of El Escorial!

El Escorial by Tim Baker

El Escorial by Tim Baker

El Escorial by Tim Baker

El Escorial by Tim Baker

El Escorial by Tim Baker

El Escorial by Tim Baker

There is a still a mystery with this film though, and the other – it also contains images from Berwick, well near Berwick, a tudor house/fortress (!) that was along the border we visited there…I have the digital pics so confirmed that…I remembered the day immediately when I saw the scan, and that I went to to the top and took pictures but Johnn stayed at the bottom, and the house had been much raided over the centuries and I think was English Heritage (?) but no idea where this is:

Northumberland by Tim baker

Ditto this image, which I’m guessing is also in the area or somewhere near Lindisfarne, because I have a colour version of this taken on the previous film (7):

Northumberland Tree by Tim Baker

All images taken on Ilford Delta with Nikon F90.

Leave a Reply

